Working and living in Yangon

It has been always been one of my dreams to work overseas for an extended period of time.  Having grown up and lived in Singapore for a decent 40 years, I tell myself if I am not going to fulfill this dream on my bucket list now, it may never happen.  I was fortunate to be offered a teaching position in a few different countries, but it was Myanmar that got my attention and this is where I am now.

Living in Mandalay for a year and now in Yangon for the last 9 months has been an interesting experience for me.   There was never a dull moment working with colleagues of six different nationalities and students from more than ten nationalities.  While my colleagues and I may embrace different cultures and perspectives in life, we had the common goal of bringing International Education to the doorstep of this third world country.  I am certain we have gained much from this experience and will leave this country more enriched and with a great sense of fulfillment.

My single entry working visa last me for a good 70 days before I can return to Singapore to be with my family.  Whenever I am home sick, I would find comfort food in Union Bar & Grill (near the Strand Hotel), one of my favorite hiding places downtown.  I love the ambience and most of the dishes on the menu, not to forget the daily Happy Hour from 5 to 7 pm.  If you happen to be in this part of the world, don’t forget to visit this restaurant or buzz me to meet up coz I am part of the Couchsurfing community 🙂

image       image

2 thoughts on “Working and living in Yangon

  1. Hello Susan, I am also currently staying in Yangon. I am a freelance journalist and am working on some articles about education here. It will be nice if I can add your voice into it as an expatriate teacher. Will it be possible for us to meet for tea and a quick chat on or before sunday (4 Jan)? This will be my last weekend in the country. My phone number here is 09 79 66 09 819, please feel free to call.

Leave a Reply

